logo

Play

Bio

I grew up in Denver, Colorado then headed East to go to college. In 1985, I earned my B.A. in Cognitive Science at Brown University. After graduation, I worked in Washington, DC for several non-profit organizations doing fundraising, public relations, and volunteer management. For a short time I was an international trade and public affairs consultant. In 1992, I started graduate school, earning my M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Psychology at Carnegie Mellon University where I focused on developmental cognitive neuroscience. I also participated in the Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition (CNBC) Graduate Training Program. I moved to State College in 1997. I am married and have two daughters.

Arts

My family and I are all involved in local theatre. My wife and I met in a community theatre production back in Washington, D.C. Recent shows have included "Oliver!", "The Sound of Music," and "Sweeney Todd," with Singing Onstage, and "Dracula" and "The Survivor" with the State College Community Theatre (SCCT). I am former president and producer at SCCT. I performed in The Next Stage theatre's production of "The Memory of Water" during the summer of 2012 and in "Harper Regan" in Spring 2013.

Needless to say, I love to sing and dance. I'm also learning to play a number of instruments, including the banjo, mandolin, harmonica, and tin whistle. I play a bit of guitar, too.

Advocacy

I am involved in local politics, serving as clerk and acting Judge of Elections in my State College precinct over the past few elections. I was a moderate Republican for many years, but changed parties more than a decade ago. My wife and I serve as Democratic Precinct Co-chairs. I am a fiscal conservative and a social liberal.

I was a volunteer with the Centre Region Bike Coalition for several years, including serving as president. In that time, I helped lead an effort to build the Bellefonte Central Rail Trail through the Penn State Arboretum.

Adventure

I like to hike, backpack, kayak and ride my bicycles: a foldable touring Bike Friday, and a Specialized Hybrid that I sometimes use to commute to work.

Technology

I'm a bit of a techno-geek (Mac, iPhone, iPad). I speak passable *nix, am learning to be my own sysadmin, and I like to program in R and Matlab. I'm learning JavaScript, Python, and Ruby, and I roll my own HTML and CSS. When I have time, I enjoy playing around with electronics -- you can say Arduino to me and I'll say Uno. I'd really like to get a Raspberry Pi and one day a Lego Mindstorms Robotics kit.

Fork me on GitHub